Sweaty, Hick Preacher!


I wish I could change a couple of things about myself when it comes to my preaching, but I simply can’t. I can always be more prepared, more prayed up and more given over to be used by the Holy Spirit, but I can’t change these things.

  • I’m a sweaty preacher. I really do sweat buckets on most occasions. I’ve always been the guy who wears a t-shirt and shorts in the middle of winter. We actually didn’t turn the heat on in our house all of last winter. I was the exact same when I was 185 lbs, so I can’t fully blame it on my extra poundage. Maybe dropping a few pounds (Ok, more like a few dozen!) will help. I do now carry my trusty sweat rag! Now that’s appealing!
  • I have a West Virginia accent. I don’t notice it too much when I’m talking, but when I listen to myself speak online or on CD, I feel like I’m a part of the Blue Collar Comedy Tour, except I’m no where near as funny. I did grow up in good old West Virginia and I’m not ashamed of my upbringing (trailer parks can be great places!), but I wish I didn’t sound so hicky! I don’t feel too bad about that now that I have listened to Gary Lamb. Now that guy’s got an accent!

So thanks to everyone that listens to me when I preach!

One thought on “Sweaty, Hick Preacher!

Leave a Reply

