Untapped Potential


2994339228_346f1cf377_b

I spent a few hours today sorting through my baseball card collection.  I haven’t really actively collected in a few years, but I still have hundreds of thousands of cards.  As I sorted through these cards I started to realize how many of these players I had never heard of and had not really made it in the big leagues.  I’d say a good 40% of the players I was seeing, never realized their potential.  I then started to think about spiritual matters.  I wonder what the percentage of believers out there never really realize their God-given potential (myself included).  How many of us never truly step out of our comfort zones…you know, the place you have to go in order to realize that potential?  How many of us just are full of excuses, or are too lazy to really do the things that we know we should be doing for God.  Many of us are too comfortable with where we are currently and will never realize that potential because it takes obstacles, sacrifice and hard work to get there. So my question to you and to myself…”Am I living up to my God-given potential?”  If so great.  If not, why?  What is holding you back?  What is holding me back?  I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be just another career minor leaguer that never lived my dream.  Maybe our dreams are too small.

Leave a Reply

